AAPT.org - American Association of Physics Teachers
 
 

Committee Members

Tara A. Peppard, Chair (2019)
Cleveland State Univ
2121 Euclid Avenue
SI-120
Cleveland, OH United States 44115
Phone: (216) 687-2076
t.peppard@csuohio.edu

Gregory W. Putman, Vice Chair (2019)
Kent State Univ - Main Campus
Po Box 5190
Dept of Physics, Smith Hall, Rm 103
Kent, OH United States 44242
Phone: (330) 672-8734; Fax: (330) 672-2959
gputman1@kent.edu

Scott Dudley (2019)
TASIS England
Coldharbour Ln
Thorpe, Egham, United Kingdom TW20 8TE
scottcolton@msn.com

Ansel J. Foxley (2021)
University of Northern Colorado
501 20th St
Greeley, CO United States 80639-6900
ajfoxley@gmail.com

Stephen H. Irons (2020)
Yale University
217 Prospect St
PO Box 208120
New Haven, CT United States 06520
Phone: (203) 432-3664; Fax: (203) 432-6175
stephen.irons@yale.edu

Alexandru Maries (2021)
University of Cincinnati - Main Campus
2624 Clifton Ave
Cincinnati, OH United States 45221
Phone: (201) 312-5091
mariesau@ucmail.uc.edu

Mark F. Masters (2019)
IPFW
2101 Coliseum Blvd E
Fort Wayne, IN United States 46805
Phone: (260) 481-6153; Fax: (260) 481-6880
masters@ipfw.edu

Samuel M. Sampere (2020)
Syracuse University
Dept of Physics
201 Physics Bldg
Syracuse, NY United States 13244
Phone: (315) 443-5999; Fax: (315) 443-9103
smsamper@syr.edu

Beth A. Cunningham, Ex Officio
American Association of Physics Teachers
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3310; Fax: (301) 209-0845
bcunningham@aapt.org

Rachel Sweeney, Staff Liaison
American Association of Physics Teachers
Office of the Executive Officer
One Physics Ellipse
College Park, MD United States 20740-3845
Phone: (301) 209-3304; Fax: (301) 209-0845
rsweeney@aapt.org

Past Chairs

David P. Maiullo (2016)

James J. Lincoln (2016)

Daniel E. Beeker (2018)

 

Mission

  1. Inform the AAPT membership about current techniques for the construction, maintenance, and utilization of instructional apparatus.
  2. Seek new and forgotten techniques for presenting ideas in physics through lecture demonstrations and laboratory exercises.
  3. As authorized by the Executive Board, conduct events such as the apparatus competition to recognize, reward, and publicize contributions to physics teaching through lecture demonstrations and laboratory exercises.